Ocean Township Driving While Suspended Lawyer

Driving on a suspended license in New Jersey is a serious motor vehicle charge. Also known as driving on the revoked list, penalties can include further loss of driving privileges, fines, and even jail time if it is a third or subsequent offense. If you or a loved one has been pulled over for driving while suspended in Wall, East Brunswick, Toms River, Tinton Falls, Jackson, Howell, Middletown, or Sayreville, please feel free to contact McGuckin Law for a free consultation.

New Jersey police and state troopers actively patrol the streets in cars equipped with license plate readers in an effort to locate and ticket suspended drivers. If you or a loved one has been issued a Driving While Suspended ticket, do not just accept the penalties. Rather, seek out an experienced traffic attorney to help you beat of mitigate the charges.

Toms River NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyer

McGuckin Law is a traffic and criminal defense firm that specializes in serious motor vehicle tickets like Driving on the Revoked List. With offices in Monmouth, Ocean and Middlesex County we defend clients throughout the Jersey Shore including Ocean Township, Plainsboro, Little Egg Harbor, Old Bridge, and Holmdel. We will challenge the state’s ability to prove that you had notice of your suspension. We will also request that the court adjourn your matter to allow you time to have your license restored, which may lead to a positive result. Call us anytime to discuss your option at 732.924.4200.

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey

For your convenience, the penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey according to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 are as follows:

First Offense Driving Suspended

• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $500 fine

Second Offense Driving Suspended

• Mandatory 1 – 5 days in county jail

• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $750 fine

Third of Subsequent Driving Suspended

• Mandatory ten (10) days in county jail

• Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

• $1000 fine

Freehold NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyers

As you can see, driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is a serious, and potentially life-altering, offense. Loss of driving privileges are more than a nuisance and can pose serious financial hardship if you are unable to commute to work or school.

Remember, the state must demonstrate that you knew that your license was suspended. Our clients often had no idea that their privileges were revoked when they were stopped by police only to find out that the reason for the revocation was an unpaid parking ticket, insurance surcharge, or other minor issue. Driving While on a DWI Suspension is even more severe, carrying mandatory jail time of up to ninety (90) days and additional one to two years license suspension.

Call McGuckin Law Today!

At McGuckin Law we will fight your case to get the best possible result. If you or your loved one has been charged with driving while suspended consider reaching out to us today for a free consultation at 732.924.4200.